California to require entry-level driver training
Posted October 9, 2018
Though not included in the federal entry-level driver training regulation that is set to go into effect on February 7, 2020, a minimum number of behind-the-wheel training hours will soon be required of entry-level drivers in California.
Recently enacted legislation requires that the California Department of Motor Vehicles adopt the entry-level driver training rules in Parts 380, 383, and 384 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations by June 5, 2020.
As part of the adoption, Class A and Class B commercial driver’s license applicants must have a minimum of 15 hours of behind-the-wheel training. Ten of the 15 hours of training must be on a public road.
A minimum number of behind-the-wheel training hours were included in the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s (FMCSA) proposed entry-level driver training regulation, but the final rule did not include this provision.
FMCSA’s final rule mandates a behind-the-wheel training curriculum that includes range and road instruction, but does not set a minimum number of hours for the completion of the training.
Proficiency is determined by the instructor providing the training.
California Senate Bill 1236 was signed into law September 30, 2018.
J. J. Keller's Entry-Level Driver Training Manual: Obtaining a CDL teaches students the basics of safe driving techniques and complies with FMCSA's new entry-level driver training rule.
J. J. Keller's FREE Transportation SafetyClicks™ email newsletter brings quick-read safety and compliance news right to your email box.