Skip to main content
Skip global navigation and go to main content

FMCSA suspends regulations in 16 states for flood relief

Emergency declaration extended through July 2

Posted May 31, 2019

Heavy flooding and destruction from tornadoes throughout the Great Plains and Midwest during the month of May has led the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) to extend an emergency declaration through July 2.

The declaration takes effect in 16 states and grants emergency exemptions to drivers providing direct assistance supporting emergency relief efforts from Parts 390 to 399 of Title 49 CFR including hours-of-service regulations.

The affected states are: Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Drivers are still required to comply with commercial driver’s license (CDL), drug and alcohol, hazardous materials, and registration and tax requirements.

FMCSA Compliance ManualJ. J. Keller's FMCSA Compliance Manual helps companies operating commercial motor vehicles (CMVs) comply with DOT regulations.


J. J. Keller's FREE Transportation SafetyClicks™ email newsletter brings quick-read safety and compliance news right to your email box.

Sign up to receive Transport SafetyClicks™.