My state minimum wage increased – do I need a new labor law poster?

Some rate updates bring mandatory posting changes

Posted January 20, 2020

The minimum wage increased in more than 20 states on January 1, 2020, and in many of those states businesses need to update their labor law posters.

In some states, an annual minimum wage adjustment is based on inflation. When this is the case, a new poster is needed each January 1, because the new rate isn’t known until shortly before the new year begins.

In other states, a stepped minimum wage increase is part of the law. Some of these states choose to include increases for multiple years on their minimum wage poster, which means a new poster isn’t needed annually. Others prefer to publish a new poster each year.

Here’s a look at states where a new minimum wage took effect recently and details on where an updated poster is needed:


State

2020 Minimum Wage Rate

New poster needed?

Alaska

$10.19

Yes

Arizona

$12

Yes

Arkansas

$10

No

California

$13/$12

No

Colorado

$12

Yes

Connecticut

$11

No*

Florida

$8.56

Yes

Illinois

$9.25

Yes

Maine

$12

Yes

Maryland

$11

Yes**

Massachusetts

$12.75

No

Michigan

$9.65

No

Minnesota

$10/$8.15

Yes

Missouri

$9.45

Yes

Montana

$8.65

Yes***

New Jersey

$11

No

New Mexico

$9

Yes

New York

$15/$13/$11.80

Yes****

Ohio

$8.70

Yes

South Dakota

$9.30

Yes***

Vermont

$10.96

Yes

Washington

$13.50

Yes***

*Increased October 1; New poster expected to be released later in 2020.

**Updated poster released in June 2019.

 

***Minimum wage poster optional. 

 

****New rate effective December 31, 2019