Skip to main content
Skip global navigation and go to main content

FMCSA emergency declaration expands to 22 states

Drivers temporarily granted relief from Parts 390 to 399 of Title 49 regulations

Posted January 30, 2019

An emergency declaration by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) due to winter storms and frigid cold temperatures has expanded to nearly half of the states in the U.S.

FMCSA amended its regional emergency declaration for the second time this month in response to anticipated heating and fuel shortages.

The emergency declaration now includes 22 states — an addition of 10 more from the most recent declaration.

Drivers who are providing assistance relief efforts with the transport of heating fuel including propane, natural gas and heating oil, and fuel products including gasoline are granted relief from Parts 390 through 399 of Title 49 federal regulations.

The declaration is in effect until February 2, 2019.

The complete list of states included in the emergency declaration now includes: Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, and Wisconsin.

Motor Carrier Safety ReportJ. J. Keller's Motor Carrier Safety Report keeps you current on federal and state compliance information that impacts your drivers, trucks, and bottom line.


J. J. Keller's FREE Transportation SafetyClicks™ email newsletter brings quick-read safety and compliance news right to your email box.

Sign up to receive Transport SafetyClicks™.