State-Specific Sexual Harassment Training Requirements

This information is for customers using J. J. Keller's Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Program. Select the state below to learn more about the sexual harassment prevention training and education required by individual states.

Covered employers: Employers with 5 or more employees. The employee count includes temporary, seasonal, migrant, or agricultural workers as well as employees located outside California. [Note: An employer is required to train its California-based employees so long as it employs 5 or more employees anywhere, even if they do not work at the same location and even if not all of them work or reside in California.]

Who must be trained: All supervisory and nonsupervisory employees located in California. (Employees located outside of California count toward the 5-employee threshold but are not required to receive training).

Training length: 1 hour for employees, 2 hours for supervisors

Frequency of training: Every two years

Interactive component required: Yes

New-hire training deadline: Within 6 months of hire. Seasonal, temporary, or other employees hired to work for fewer than 6 months must be trained within 30 calendar days of hire or within 100 hours worked, whichever occurs first.

To be compliant with state requirements, training must include the following information:

  • A definition of unlawful sexual harassment under the Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) (use definition from first FAQ – “What is sexual harassment?”)
  • A statement that abusive conduct is illegal, and the definition of abusive conduct as found in Government Code section 12950.1, subdivision (i)(2) (copy the definition starting with “conduct of an employer…”
  • State contact information for the California Civil Rights Department (CRD), including information on how to file a discrimination or harassment complaint.

To satisfy California time and interactivity requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention for California Employees and Sexual Harassment Prevention for California Managers and interactive materials in conjunction with this supplementary information:

  • Instructions on how to contact a qualified trainer who can answer questions within two business days.
  • Anti-harassment policy – either the employer's or a sample.
  • Company complaint process and contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment.

Beginning January 1, 2028, California law requires employers to include “anti-hate speech training” as a component of their existing harassment prevention training. This does not increase the existing one- and two-hour training requirements or require employers to conduct a separate training course. Instead, J. J. Keller will incorporate the new content into our existing California harassment prevention programs by the January 1, 2028 effective date.

Covered employers: All employers

Who must be trained: All employers must train supervisors; employers with 3 or more employees must train all employees and supervisors

Training length: 2 hours

Frequency of training: Initial training plus supplemental training not less than every 10 years.

Interactive component required: Yes*

New-hire training deadline: Within 6 months of hire (includes newly promoted supervisors as well)

To be compliant with state requirements, training must include the following information:

  • Exact definition of sexual harassment as set forth in (8) of subsection (a) of section 46a-60 of the Connecticut General Statutes (copy the definition beginning in the second sentence with “Any unwelcome…”).
  • A statement that remedies available to victims of sexual harassment may include, but are not limited to, cease and desist orders; hiring, promotion or reinstatement; compensatory damages and back pay (employers may add other company-specific remedies).
  • A statement that individuals who commit acts of sexual harassment may be subject to both civil and criminal penalties.
  • State contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (at minimum, provide employees with this website and phone number for the Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities – 860-541-3400 [phone], 860-541-3459 [TDD]).

To satisfy Connecticut time requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention for Connecticut Employees and Sexual Harassment Prevention for Connecticut Managers and interactive materials in conjunction with this supplementary information:

  • *Instructions on how to ask questions and obtain prompt answers from employer or trainer.
  • Company complaint process and contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment.

Covered employers: Those with 50 or more employees working in Delaware (including seasonal and temporary employees).

Who must be trained: All employers; supervisors must receive additional supervisor-specific training.

Training length: Not specified

Frequency of training: Every 2 years

Interactive component required: Yes

New-hire training deadline: Within 1 year of hire. New supervisors must receive supervisor-specific training within 1 year of assuming supervisory responsibilities.

To be compliant with state requirements, training must include the following information:

  • State contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (at minimum, provide employees with this website and phone numbers for Delaware Department of Labor Office of Anti-Discrimination – 302-761-8200 or 302-424-1134)

To satisfy Delaware interactivity requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention for Delaware Employees and Sexual Harassment Prevention for Delaware Managers and interactive materials in conjunction with this supplementary information:

  • Company complaint process and contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment.

Covered employers: All employers

Who must be trained: All employees

Training length: Not specified

Frequency of training: Annually

Interactive component required: Yes

New-hire training deadline: Not specified

To be compliant with state requirements, training must include the following information

  • A statement that sexual harassment is illegal under the Illinois Human Rights Act.
  • A summary of responsibilities of employers in the prevention, investigation, and corrective measures of sexual harassment.
  • Details of legal recourse and complaint process available through the Illinois Department of Human Rights (at minimum, provide employees with information provided on this website and phone number for the Illinois Department of Human Rights – 312-814-6200 [Chicago phone], 217-785-5100 [Springfield phone], 866-740-3953 [statewide TTY]).
  • Employers in the restaurant and bar industry must also include supplemental training that includes:
    • Examples of illegal conduct and discussions of sexual harassment related specifically to the restaurant/bar industry (provided by employer).

To satisfy Illinois interactivity requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention for Illinois Employees and Sexual Harassment Prevention for Illinois Managers and interactive materials in conjunction with this supplementary information:

City of Chicago

Effective July 1, 2022, employers with employees working in the City of Chicago must provide:

  • One hour of annual sexual harassment prevention training for employees;
  • Two hours annually for supervisors and managers; and
  • One hour of annual bystander intervention training for all employees.

To satisfy Chicago requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention for Chicago Employee and Sexual Harassment Prevention for Chicago Managers.

Covered employers: Those with 15 or more employees

Who must be trained: All employees. Supervisory and managerial employees must receive additional supervisor-specific training.

Training length: Not specified

Frequency of training: Not specified

Interactive component required: Not specified

New-hire training deadline: Within 1 year of hire. Supervisors and managers must receive additional training within 1 year of assuming a supervisory position.

To be compliant with state requirements, training must include the following information:

To satisfy Maine requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention for Maine Employee and Sexual Harassment Prevention for Maine Managers and interactive materials in conjunction with this supplementary information:

Covered employers: All

Who must be trained: All employees (including seasonal and temporary workers)

Training length: Not specified

Frequency of training: Annually

Interactive component required: Yes

New-hire training deadline: As soon as possible (exact timing not specified)

To be compliant with state requirements, training must include the following information:

  • Information regarding supervisors’ responsibilities to prevent, address, and report sexual harassment and retaliation.
  • State contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (at minimum, provide employees with this website, email complaints@dhr.ny.gov, and phone number for the Division of Human Rights – 718-741-8332 [phone], 718-741-8300 [TTY]).

To satisfy interactivity requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention for New York Employees and Sexual Harassment Prevention for New York Managers and interactive materials in conjunction with this supplementary information:

  • Company sexual harassment prevention policy, including the employer's complaint procedure, complaint form (if separate from the policy), and contact information for individuals to whom employees should report harassment.
 

Note: States may have more requirements than are listed here. Requirements not listed here are already met within the Sexual Harassment Prevention for Employees and Sexual Harassment Prevention for Managers.