We protect people and the businesses they run.™

0 Items

Safety & Compliance Resources

J. J. Keller protects people and the businesses they run. You can trust our expertise across a wide range of subjects relating to labor, transportation, environmental, and worker safety. Our deep knowledge of federal and state agencies is built on a strong foundation of more than 100 editors and consultants and 70+ years of regulatory compliance experience.

Company & Careers

J. J. Keller protects people and the businesses they run. You can trust our expertise across a wide range of subjects relating to labor, transportation, environmental, and worker safety. Our deep knowledge of federal and state agencies is built on a strong foundation of more than 100 editors and consultants and 70+ years of regulatory compliance experience.

State-Specific Sexual Harassment Training Requirements

This information is for customers using J. J. Keller's Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Program. Select the state below to learn more about the sexual harassment prevention training and education required by individual states.

Beginning January 1, 2019; initial training must be complete by January 1, 2021.

Covered employers: Those with 5 or more employees (this count includes temporary, seasonal, migrant, or agricultural workers as well as non-California-based employees, independent contractors, volunteers, or unpaid interns).
[Note: An employer is required to train its California-based employees so long as it employs 5 or more employees anywhere, even if they do not work at the same location and even if not all of them work or reside in California.]

Who must be trained: All California-based employees (not including non-California-based employees, independent contractors, volunteers, or unpaid interns —these employees count toward the number of employees but do not require training).

Training length: 1 hour for employees, 2 hours for supervisors

Frequency of training: Every two years

Interactive component required: Yes

New-hire training deadline: Within 6 months of hire; For employees expected to work less than 6 months, training must be completed within 30 calendar days or 100 hours worked, whichever comes first.

In order to be compliant with state requirements, training must include the following information:

  • A definition of unlawful sexual harassment under the Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) (use definition from first FAQ – “What is sexual harassment?”)
  • A statement that abusive conduct is illegal, and the definition of abusive contact as found in Government Code section 12950.1, subdivision (i)(2) (copy the definition starting with “conduct of an employer…”
  • Company complaint process and contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (provided by employer)
  • State contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (at minimum, provide employees with this website, email [contact.center@dfeh.ca.gov], and phone number for the Department of Fair Employment and Housing - 800-884-1684 [voice], 800-700-2320 [TTY])
  • Instructions on how to contact a qualified trainer who can answer questions within two business days (provided by employer)
  • Anti-harassment policy – either the employer's or a sample (provided by employer)

In order to satisfy California time and interactivity requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention program and interactive materials in conjunction with the supplementary information noted above.

The October 1, 2020 Sexual Harassment Prevention Training deadline has been extended to January 1, 2021 due to the Covid-19 Pandemic.

Covered employers: All

Who must be trained: All employers must train supervisors; Those with 3 or more employees must train all employees and supervisors

Training length: 2 hours

Frequency of training: Every 10 years

Interactive component required: No

New-hire training deadline: Within 6 months of hire

In order to be compliant with state requirements, training must include the following information:

  • Exact definition of sexual harassment as set forth in (8) of subsection (a) of section 46a-60 of the Connecticut General Statutes (copy the definition beginning in the second sentence with “Any unwelcome…”)
  • Instructions on how to ask questions and obtain prompt answers from employer or trainer (provided by employer)
  • A statement that remedies available to victims of sexual harassment may include, but are not limited to, cease and desist orders; hiring, promotion or reinstatement; compensatory damages and back pay (employers may add other company-specific remedies)
  • A statement that individuals who commit acts of sexual harassment may be subject to both civil and criminal penalties
  • Company complaint process and contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (provided by employer)
  • State contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (at minimum, provide employees with this website and phone number for the Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities – 860-541-3400 [phone], 860-541-3459 [TDD]).

In order to satisfy Connecticut time requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention program and interactive materials in conjunction with the supplementary information noted above.

Beginning January 1, 2019; initial training must be complete by January 1, 2020.

Covered employers: Those with 50 or more employees working in Delaware (including seasonal and temporary employees)

Who must be trained: All employers

Training length: Not specified

Frequency of training: Every 2 years

Interactive component required: Yes

New-hire training deadline: Within 1 year of hire

In order to be compliant with state requirements, training must include the following information:

  • Company complaint process and contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (provided by employer)
  • State contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (at minimum, provide employees with this website and phone numbers for Delaware Department of Labor Office of Anti-Discrimination – 302-761-8200 or 302-424-1134)

In order to satisfy Delaware interactivity requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention program and interactive materials in conjunction with the supplementary information noted above.

Beginning January 1, 2020, employers must provide sexual harassment training to all employees on an annual basis.

Covered employers: All

Who must be trained: All employees

Training length: Not specified

Frequency of training: Annually

Interactive component required: Yes

New-hire training deadline: Not specified

In order to be compliant with state requirements, training must include the following information:

  • A statement that sexual harassment is illegal under the Illinois Human Rights Act
  • A summary of responsibilities of employers in the prevention, investigation, and corrective measures of sexual harassment (this is provided in Module 6: Additional Management Responsibilities of the Sexual Harassment Prevention program, which should be distributed to all employees to meet this requirement).
  • Company complaint process and contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (provided by employer).
  • Details of legal recourse and complaint process available through the Illinois Department of Human Rights (at minimum, provide employees with information provided on this website and phone number for the Illinois Department of Human Rights – 312-814-6200 [Chicago phone], 217-785-5100 [Springfield phone], 866-740-3953 [statewide TTY])
  • Employers in the restaurant and bar industry must also include supplemental training that includes:
    • Examples of illegal conduct and discussions of sexual harassment related specifically to the restaurant/bar industry (provided by employer)

In order to satisfy Illinois interactivity requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention program and interactive materials in conjunction with the supplementary information noted above.

City of Chicago

Effective July 1, 2022, employees in the city of Chicago must undergo one hour of annual sexual harassment training (two hours for supervisors/managers) and one hour of annual bystander intervention training. While our training covers bystander training, the requirement for an additional separate hour of bystander training for all employees would not be met by our training.

The Chicago Commission on Human Relations has training modules for the bystander training available for employers to download. We would recommend your customer use the full J. J. Keller sexual harassment training program (including the manager module), and then supplement it with the bystander training, from this website.

Covered employers: Those with 15 or more employees

Who must be trained: All employees

Training length: Not specified

Frequency of training: Not specified

Interactive component required: Yes

New-hire training deadline: Within 1 year of hire

In order to be compliant with state requirements, training must include the following information:

  • A statement that sexual harassment is illegal under the Maine Human Rights Act, as defined in the training
  • Additional information regarding protections from retaliation as outlined in Title 5, section 4553, subsection 10 (“Unlawful discrimination”), paragraph D (Provide copy of paragraph D [“Aiding, abetting…”] of subsection 10 [“Unlawful discrimination”])
  • Company complaint process and contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (provided by employer)
  • Details of legal recourse and complaint process available through the Maine Human Rights Commission (at minimum, provide employees with information provided on this website and phone number for the Main Human Rights Commission – 207-624-6290)

In order to satisfy Maine interactivity requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention program and interactive materials in conjunction with the supplementary information noted above.

Beginning October 8, 2018, initial training must be complete by October 9, 2019. Subsequent annual training may be based on calendar year, employee start date, or any other date the employer chooses.

Covered employers: All

Who must be trained: All employees (including seasonal and temporary workers)

Training length: Not specified

Frequency of training: Annually

Interactive component required: Yes

New-hire training deadline: As soon as possible (exact timing not specified)

In order to be compliant with state requirements, training must include the following information:

  • A statement for supervisors that reporting sexual harassment, once they observe or become aware of it, is mandatory in New York (this information should be provided to all employees).
  • Company complaint process and contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (provided by employer).
  • State contact information for individuals to whom victims should report harassment (at minimum, provide employees with this website, email [complaints@dhr.ny.gov], and phone number for the Division of Human Rights – 718-741-8332 [phone], 718-741-8300 [TTY]).
  • A sexual harassment policy that includes a complaint form for employees (employers may use the models provided or create their own)

In order to satisfy interactivity requirements, employers should use the full Sexual Harassment Prevention program and interactive materials in conjunction with the supplementary information noted below.

 

Note: States may have more requirements than are listed here. Requirements not listed here are already met within the Sexual Harassment Prevention program