State minimum wage changes arrive January 1

Be aware of required poster updates

Posted December 28, 2018

The minimum wage will be higher in 20 states in 2019 as state laws, annual adjustments for inflation, and ballot initiatives drive the larger-than-usual number of increases.

The rate will go up in 18 states on January 1 and will change in New York state on December 31. Michigan’s increase will take effect in late March.

In addition to making sure any necessary payroll adjustments are made, employers should display the new state minimum wage poster.

Here’s a look at the updated rates:

State Minimum Wage and Poster Updates 2019

State

Current Rate

New Rate

New Minimum Wage Poster Needed?

Alaska

$9.84

$9.89

Yes

Arizona

$10.50

$11.00

Yes

Arkansas

$8.50

$9.25

Yes

California*

$10.50; $11

$11/$12

Yes

Colorado

$10.20

$11.10

Yes

Delaware

$8.25

$8.75

Yes

Florida

$8.25

$8.46

Yes

Maine

$10

$11.00

Yes

Massachusetts

$11

$12.00

Yes

Michigan****

$9.25

$9.45

Yes

Minnesota*

$7.87; $9.65

$8.04/$9.86

Yes

Missouri

$7.85

$8.60

Yes

Montana

$8.30

$8.50

Recommended

New Jersey

$8.60

$8.85

Yes

New York**

$10.40; $11; $12; $13

$11.10; $12; $13.50; $15

Yes

Ohio

$8.30

$8.55

Yes

Rhode Island

$10.10

$10.50

Yes

South Dakota

$8.85

$9.10

Recommended

Vermont

$10.50

$10.78

Yes

Washington***

$9.78; $11.50

$12.00

Recommended

*Rate varies based on business size.
**Rate varies based on location. Effective December 31, 2018.
***Workers 14 or 15 years old may be paid a lower rate.
****Effective late March 2019.

This article was written by Terri Dougherty, SHRM-CP, PHR, of J. J. Keller & Associates, Inc.


J. J. Keller Labor Law PostersJ. J. Keller's comprehensive line of labor law posters help you meet local, state and federal posting requirements.

 

J. J. Keller's FREE HRClicks™ email newsletter brings quick-read workplace safety and compliance news right to your email box.

Sign up to receive HRClicks™.