Leadership changes for CVSA

New board members announced for 2017-2018 term

Posted October 9, 2017

The Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA) is transitioning to new leadership for its 2017-2018 term, the association reports.

The new leadership is comprised of:

  • Capt. Christopher Turner of the Kansas Highway Patrol as President;
  • Capt. Scott Carnegie of the Mississippi Highway Patrol as Vice President; and
  • Sgt. John Samis of the Delaware State Police as Secretary.

The new leaders bring decades of law enforcement experience:

  • Turner manages the Kansas Highway Patrol’s Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program (MCSAP) and motor carrier inspectors fixed/mobile weight enforcement and crash reconstruction teams;
  • Carnegie is currently the director of the Motor Carrier Division of the Mississippi Highway where he handles many aspects of commercial motor vehicle enforcement and operations programs; and
  • Samis is the current MCSAP supervisor for Delaware State Police’s Commercial Motor Vehicle Unit.

Julius Debuschewitz of Yukon Highways and Public Works, who served as the association’s president prior to Turner, is unable to serve his term as “past president.” As a result, CVSA’s Board of Directors will be affected.

According to CVSA bylaws, its board is made up of the three most recent past presidents able to serve. Previous past presidents Sgt. Tom Fuller of the New York State Police and Deputy Chief Mark Savage of the Colorado State Patrol have each agreed to serve one more term as past president. The third past president serving on the board is Maj. Jay Thompson of the Arkansas Highway Police.

DOT Enforcement Essentials ManualJ. J. Keller's DOT Enforcement Essentials Manual is a tool that helps proactively enforce in-house and roadside compliance and prepare for FMCSA audits.


J. J. Keller's FREE Transportation SafetyClicks™ email newsletter brings quick-read safety and compliance news right to your email box.

Sign up to receive Transportation SafetyClicks™.